Scorps News

2012 State of Origin NSW Annoucements 20.5.12
Congratulations to the following Sydney Scorpions players and officials, named in the NSW Opens teams to take on Queensland in this year's State of Origin series to be held in September 2012 at Port Macquarie.


Women’s OpenSarah Peattie, Laura Peattie
Men’s Open:  Daniel Barton, Willie Bishop,  Dylan Hennessey, Jamie Stowe.  Coach: Mark Boland, Assistant: Graham Knights  Manager: Mick Daley

On behalf of the Sydney Scorpions Executive and committee, we would like to congratulate the following Scorpions referees who have been selected to officiate at the 2012 State of Origin series.

Craig Hughes
Bernard O’Donohue
Bill Slade
Anthony Smith

Sydney Scorpions Annual General Meeting 06.5.12
The Sydney Scorptions AGM was held on Saturday 5th May 2012.  Congratulations to Brett Gillard and Tim Kitchingham who were officially recognised for their outstanding contribution to Sydney Scorpions over many years, both becoming Life Members.  Tim Kitchingham was relected as Assistant Regional Director and Finance Director, with the announcement of the Juniors Director to be made within the next few weeks.   Brett Gillard continues as Regional Director, Anthony Dudeck as Technical Director, Bill Slade as Referees Director and Bruce Ager as Coaching Director.  Many thanks to all involved with Sydney Scorpions as we go from strength to strength.

Sydney Scorpions Win Champion Permit Title at NTL 2012 12.3.12
The Sydney Scorpions Men's Opens have won yet another title defeating the Sydney Met's in a thrilling 5-4 drop-off.   It was a massive effort from the young Scorps who were missing a number of high profile players including the Kennedy brothers, Put Berryman and Willie Bishop to name yet a few.  Additionally the Scorps lost Nathan Wong to a knee injury during the semi final.  In the final the team stood up and was counted and amazingly held the Sydney Mets score-less after the first half, racing to a 4-0 lead.  To the credit of the experienced Mets they fought back and just before full time evened it up at 4-4.  However battling obvious fatigue the Scorpions dug deep and got over the line to score with Jonathon Palau scoring in the corner to take the win 5-4.  Sam Brisby was recognised for his impressive performances throughout the event, being named both the Player of the Final and Player of the Series.  Full match report can be found here.  This win capped off another great tournament for the Sydney Scorpions making six Grand Finals and taking out a number of divisions and giving them the 2012 Champion Permit Title.  Congratulations to yet another win for Coach Dave Nolan – this time with the Men's 20's.  Other title winner were the Men's 45's and Men's 55's.  All the news and results can be found via the TFA website.   

2011 X-Blades National Touch League  13.03.11
The NSW Scorpions have defeated the NSW Mets by one touchdown in a thrilling encounter in the Men’s Elite Eight final at Port Macquarie’s Regional Sports Stadium. In a match that saw several lead changes, the Mets hit back from a two touchdown deficit in the final minutes to level the game at six touchdowns a piece, before the Scorpions scored in the final minute to take a 7-6 win. Congratulations to Coach Terry Cooper and his team for a fantastic achievement. The Scorpions Nathan Wong was rewarded for his strong game, being named the Player of the Final. For a full report please visit the TFA site. In the Women's Elite Eight division a young NSW Scorpions team had an excellent tournament making the semi-finals, going down to the eventual winners the NSW Mets. The overall Club Championship went to the Brisbane City Cobras who just managed to beat the Sydney Scorpions by a single point.

Congratulations to the following winning Scorpions teams:

Elite Eight Men: New South Wales Scorpions 7 defeated by New South Wales Mets 6
Scorpions: Jonathan Palau, Daniel Barton, Maurice Kennedy, Sam Brisby, Simon Lang, Daniel Chiddy, Nathan Wong
Mets: Anthony Ziade, Ben Moylan, Scott Buckley, Trent Touma, Tim Good, Steve Roberts

Women's 40's: Sydney Scorpions 6 defeated South West Queensland Swans 1
Scorpions: Megan McGhie 2, Linda Patterson, Sue Hume, Natalie Harrison, Kath Sambell

Men’s 40’s: Sydney Scorpions 10 defeated South Queensland Sharks 9
Scorpions: David Cheung 3, Jason Martin 2, Mark Springfield 2, Peter Wandl, Alex Ferro, Jeff Cheung

Men’s 55’s: Sydney Scorpions 5 defeated Sunshine Coast 4
Scorpions: Les Saggers 2, David McLean, Phil Young, Marty Fletcher