National Touch League 2013

The Sydney Scorpions have yet again put on a dominate display at the National Titles winning five of the seven Finals they appeared in.  As a result once again taking out the Champion Permit and being awarded the 2013 Golden Boot.  The Scorpions hold the impressive statistic of being the current title holders in a total of 10 of the 17 divisions they competed in at National & NSWTA Junior Regional level.   The fantastic passion and culture that has been a feature of the permit for many years was once again on display at Coffs Harbour and the Scorpions Executive would like to thank their many Players, Coaches, Managers, Referees, Physio’s, Selectors and supporters for their excellent efforts.  Timelines for the 2014 NTL coaching nominations and squad updates will be released shortly, with the dates for the next NTL Wednesday 12th until Saturday 15th March 2014, once again at Coffs Harbour.

Men’s Open Player of the Series: Sam Brisby (New South Wales Scorpions)
2013 Golden Boot: Sydney Scorpions

Women’s T League – Sydney Scorpions v Sunshine Coast Pineapples
In an exhilarating final, the Sunshine Coast Pineapples upstaged the Sydney Scorpions 4-3 in this afternoon’s women’s T League decider.  The match was in the balance right up to the final whistle. Two touchdowns in the second half to Teniele Trewin got the Pineapples over the line by one. The Scorpions opened the scoring first when Andrea Roditis crossed early only for it to be cancelled out by Pineapples’ Evania Pelite. Sunshine Coast scored their second just before half-time to give the Pineapples a 2-1 lead. It wasn’t until seven minutes before full-time the next touchdown was posted.  The Scorpions’ Tayla Clifford getting the job down to make it 2-2. The Pineapples regained the lead but the Scorpions levelled things up again with only a few minutes left on the clock.  But as quickly as the Scorpions scored their touchdown, Trewin was celebrating her second of the half to put her side back in front with a minute left. The Scorpions had one final crack when the hooter sounded but the Pineapple’s defence held strong.  SUNSHINE COAST PINEAPPLES 4 (Teniele Trewin 2, Sarah Keleher, Evania Pelite touchdowns) def SYDNEY SCORPIONS 3 (Andrea Roditis, Tayla Clifford, Jessica Shanahan touchdowns).

Sydney Scorpions 2013 NTL & Elite 8 Final Teams:  25/03/13
Men’s Elite 8:  Joshua Gillard, Chad McMillan, Dominic Field, Joe Ng, Madilitso Masache, Jay Miller, Samuel Brisby, Simon Lang, Mark Roberts, Ciaran Toner, Matthew Wagstaff, Grant McDonald, Alex Nicholls O’Neil, Willie Bishop, Jonathan Palua.  Coach:  Graham Knights Assistant Coach:  Dave Roberts

Women’s Elite 8: Danni Davis, Sarah Peattie, Laura Peattie, Brittany McLeod, Elesha Dougal, Patricia Michaelopula, Shayna Coyne, Maddison Fisher, Maddison Regan, Nicky Albery, Elin Mortimer, Hannah Dyball, Yasmin Meakes, Rebecca Cachia, Amy Regal.  Coach Tony Eltakchi Assistant Coach: Barry Gibson   Manager: Kerrie Doyle

Men’s T-League: Ben Younis, Billy Leonard, Charlie Suters, Harry Suters, Josh Wandl, Kalani Duff, Lachlan Marks, Luke Mansour, Mark Leonard, Mason McDonald, Matt Smith, Samuel Raffaele, Tom Collins.  Coach: Alex Ferro   Assistant Coach: Mark Leonard  Manager: Scott Collins

Women’s T-League:  Runners Up – Abbey Papenhuyzen (Co-Captain), Alex Wallace, Andrea Roditis, Chloe Cheney, Emma Williams, Jess Shanahan, Kaitlin McCaffery, Kate Devlin, Shellie Davis, Steph Maiolo (Co-Captain), Tayla Clifford, Tayla Duguid, Taylor Hornery, Zara Nicholas.  Coach: Anthony Dudeck  Assistant Coach: Jamie Clifford   Manager: Robyn Maiolo

Mixed Opens: Ryan Jennings, Josh O’Connor, Josh Phillips, Adam Haskins, Blake Cook, Andy Gonzalvez, Jordan Horo, Alice Ferguson, Katie Harrison, Kim Kennedy, Natalie Hummelstad, Courtney Duguid, Jayden Horo, Lizzie Baxter, Ricky Hetherington.  Coach: Ricky Hetherington

Men’s 30’s:  Champions – Willie Chan, Dean Murphy, Dave Roberts, Drew Davies, Adam Fahim, Heath Cooper, Andrew Windsor, Paul Macpherson, Jason Everitt Jarrod Thomas, Richard Foote, Putt Berryman, Damien Guilbert, Michael Irvine, Richard Attard, Wayne Mackenzie.  Coaches Terry Cooper & Bruce Ager.

Men’s 45’s:  Champions – Brett Gillard, Bruce Ager, Cliff Lyons, David McDonald , Andrew Stergio, Greg Friend, Jeffrey Cheung, Andrew Humpherson, Scott Collins, James Marks, Peter McDonald, Peter Wandl, Tim Kitchingham, David Cheung.

Men’s 55’s:  Runners Up – Warren Kable, Grahame Pickering, Brian Twentyman, Mick Gallagher, Phil Young, Marty Fletcher, Les Saggus, David McLean, Stephen New, Steve Riddle, Paul Wines, John Watts, Peter Spray, Barry Draws.  Coach:  Les Saggus

Women’s 27’s:  Champions – Dilani Fahey, Felicity Probert, Jodie Irvine, Kelly Irvine, Kim Solman, Lauren Shore, Rebecca Birch, Rebecca Hannon, Rebecca Laing (C), Sally Kierath, Yelena Fairfax, Kylie Allen, Emma Lees.  Coach: Michael Irvine  Manager:  Ben Brown

Women’s 40’s:  Champions – Kylie Tallack, Vicki Humpherson, Michelle Smidt, Michelle Griffiths, Monique Nolan, Linda Patterson, Kim Paull, Jenny Maarseveen, Monique Licardy, Allina Inkster, Paula Brock, Wendy Camelotti, Natalie Leonard.  Coach:  Jason Martin  Manager:  Monique Licardy

Senior Mixed: Champions – Anthony Dudeck, Brad Mitchell,Chris Benfield, Craig Beacroft (Captain), Grant Harris, Ian Kalms, Jason Lonergan, Mark Gerace, Shayne Heiler, Stewart Syron, Rosa-Lee Oster, Jade Steedman, Karen Short, Melissa Mitchell, Cheryl Burgess, Katrina McIlwraith.  Coach: Ian Kalms  Assistant Coach: Craig Beacroft  Manager:  Anthony Dudeck




Background Image

Color Skin