National Touch League 2011

2011 X-Blades National Touch League  13.03.11

The NSW Scorpions have defeated the NSW Mets by one touchdown in a thrilling encounter in the Men’s Elite Eight final at Port Macquarie’s Regional Sports Stadium. In a match that saw several lead changes, the Mets hit back from a two touchdown deficit in the final minutes to level the game at six touchdowns a piece, before the Scorpions scored in the final minute to take a 7-6 win. Congratulations to Coach Terry Cooper and his team for a fantastic achievement. The Scorpions Nathan Wong was rewarded for his strong game, being named the Player of the Final. For a full report please visit the TFA site. In the Women’s Elite Eight division a young NSW Scorpions team had an excellent tournament making the semi-finals, going down to the eventual winners the NSW Mets. The overall Club Championship went to the Brisbane City Cobras who just managed to beat the Sydney Scorpions by a single point.

Congratulations to the following winning Scorpions teams:

Elite Eight Men: New South Wales Scorpions 7 defeated by New South Wales Mets 6
Scorpions: Jonathan Palau, Daniel Barton, Maurice Kennedy, Sam Brisby, Simon Lang, Daniel Chiddy, Nathan Wong
Mets: Anthony Ziade, Ben Moylan, Scott Buckley, Trent Touma, Tim Good, Steve Roberts

Women’s 40’s: Sydney Scorpions 6 defeated South West Queensland Swans 1
Scorpions: Megan McGhie 2, Linda Patterson, Sue Hume, Natalie Harrison, Kath Sambell

Men’s 40’s: Sydney Scorpions 10 defeated South Queensland Sharks 9
Scorpions: David Cheung 3, Jason Martin 2, Mark Springfield 2, Peter Wandl, Alex Ferro, Jeff Cheung

Men’s 55’s: Sydney Scorpions 5 defeated Sunshine Coast 4
Scorpions: Les Saggers 2, David McLean, Phil Young, Marty Fletcher




Background Image

Color Skin