Archive for October, 2017

2018 National Touch League

Sydney Scorpions is pleased to announce their 2018 NTL teams and squads, with the tournament taking place in Coffs Harbour from 7-10 March, 2018. Trial and training details for teams can be found below, with this information updated regularly.  All other teams not listed below will be finalised over the next few weeks and then published below.  Further details please make contact via

Final Teams:
Women’s 40’s: Belinda Patterson, Cheryl Burgess, Gloria Berryman, Johanne Joe, Julia McGrath, Karen Ingram, Kerrie Doyle, Lynda Robertson, Megan Taberner, Michelle Griffiths, Michelle Roberts, Natalie Mason, Rebecca Welsh, Sharlene Wong, Vicki Humpherson. Coach: Lynda Robertson Manager: Kerrie Doyle

Women’s 45’s: Carol Forlonge, Christine Matta, Jann Rose, Jenn Maarseveen, Kath Sambell, Katrina McIlwraith, Kylie Nicholas, Kylie Tallack, Linda Patterson, Megan Kennedy, Michelle Smidt, Monique Licardy, Natalie Harrison, Sharelle Pollett. Coach: Paul Robinson Manager: Megan Kennedy

Senior Mixed: Damien Guilbert, Glen Turner, Jeremy Wihongi, John Dean, Kevin Toto, Luke Ellia Djlukan, Nathan Bates, Rocco Giaquinto, Simon Kowald, Wayne McKenzie, Debbie Attard Eato, Dominique Goldie, Karinne Roach, Rosa-Lee Oster, Tara Fenton, Vanessa Hunter. Coach: Damien Guilbert Manager: Warren Gannon

Men’s 55’s: Andrew Humpherson, Bruce Ager, Cliff Lyons, David Cheung, David Mills, Gordon Parish, Greg Friend, Jeff Cheung, Jim Randall, Larry Kelly, Matt Holland, Michael Donaghy, Michael Hardgrave, Michael Waring, Paul Robinson, Phil Young .Coach: Cliff Lyons Manager: Caren Friend

Updated Squads:
Men’s T-League (23 players): Brad Cincotta, Brad Davoren, Brendan Robertson, Cameron Dow, Conor Hickey, Jaycob Fong, Jean-Louis Jones, Joe Callaghan, Keeley Bowen, Luke Maiolo, Malcolm Chenney, Mason McDonald, Matt Swain, Ray Wehbe, Reagan Walsh, Ryan Pritchard, Sam Edgley, Sam Kelly, Sam Watkins, Tom Suters, Tuatai Marsters, Tyreese Figota, Zac Simons. Coach: Brad Curl Assistant Coach: Matt Lawson Manager: Keith Lee & TBC.

Women’s T-League (28 players): Abbey Steanes, Ally Dallaway, Bailee Nix, Bella Duncan, Brearna Nathan, Briana Hibbert, Caiti Rogers, Caitlin Cimarosti, Caitlin Hickey, Chloe Butcher, Clare Vanzino, Courtney Milone, Emma Williams, Isabella Geros, Jaymi Hamilton, Jessica Nagy, Kate Ryan, Kelsy Bridgewood, Kiiahla Duff, Lara Lewis, Lara Wilkinson, Maddi McGrath, Mel Mitchell, Olivia Steer, Paris Mooney, Rachel Cain, Sabrina Green, Simone Rodgers. Coach: Brandon McDonald Assistant Coaches: Craig Beacroft & Keith Smith Manager: TBC.

Sydney Scorpions NTL 2018 Timelines

  • The early bird discount for deposits closed after Sunday 17 December (early bird discount of $20 comes off the final levy)
  • NTL 2018 Scorpions Levy – includes TFA Levy, Tent, Medical, Scorpions Dinner, Accommodation (all pay for 5 nights minimum regardless of shorter stay), Team Photo, Playing Socks. Extra gear is not included but can be paid for also, with playing shorts $30, playing shirt $40 and bike pants $35.NTL players – $640
    E8 Players – $100 deposit only, balance to be paid to NSW Touch as invoiced
    Coaches & Managers – $490
    Players that are also Coaches & Managers – $490
    Players without accom – $380
    Coaches & Managers without accom – $230
    Additional accom required per person (excluding young children) – $285
    Family Unit – $900LEVY DUE DATES:
    $100 Deposit now overdue
    5th February – $300 ($308 via PayPal)
    19th February – $240 ($244 via PayPal)
  • No new uniform for NTL 2018, same playing shirts and shorts/bike pants, off-field gear options to be advised
  • All accommodation requests to be taken during December / January with all teams accommodated at Boambee Bay Resort, Toormina
  • All payments via Scorpions bank account (with player & team name description on bank transfer) or via (details also here
    Commonwealth Bank
    BSB 062 016
    A/C 2802 4586

NSWTA Awards 2016-17

The NSWTA Awards took place last night recognising excellence in all endeavours of our sport and organisation, with NSW Touch once again putting on a gala event at Bankstown Sports Club.

Sydney Scorpions were once again announced Region of the Year, which was warmly received highlighting excellent recognition to all at Scorpions who have worked tirelessly to make our permit number one.  However it wasn’t just at regional level but also at affiliate level with Scorpions clubs, players, coaches and teams dominating the evening taking out the majority of awards.

Congratulations to both Manly Warringah & Hills Hornets who were named joint Scorpions & NSWTA Affiliate of the Year.  Graham Knights (Manly Warringah) was awarded the Rod Wise Medal for NSWTA Volunteer of the Year, along with President of the Year.  Brad Mitchell (Hills Hornets & Scorpions) once again took home a number of awards including both Scorpions & NSWTA Administrator of the Year.  Rina Janson from Northern Suburbs TA took out the inaugural Referee Director of the Year.

On the player front Parramatta & NSW Scorpions Men’s captain Daniel Barton took out a rare double in winning the NSWTA Male Player of the Year & Boland Medal.  Danielle Davis from the Manly Warringah club won the NSWTA Female Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, with her team the Manly Warringah Women’s Open winning Team of the Year for their double Vawdon & State Cup titles last year.  Sea Eagles coach Barry Gibson was named NSWTA Coach of the Year once again with young gun Pihuka Duff from Manly Warringah announced as the Junior Female Player of the Year.

Once again congratulations to all award recipients, including those below from our Scorpions region.

NSWTA Region of the Year 2016-17
Sydney Scorpions

Sydney Scorpions Administrator of the Year
Brad Mitchell – Hills Hornets TA

Sydney Scorpions Affiliate of the Year
Manly Warringah TA & Hills Hornets TA

NSWTA Affiliate of the Year
Manly Warringah TA & Hills Hornets TA

NSWTA Male Player of the Year
Daniel Barton – Parramatta TA

NSWTA Female Player of the Year
Danni Davis – Manly Warringah TA

NSWTA Boland Medal
Daniel Barton – Parramatta TA

NSWTA Junior Female Player of the Year
Pihuka Duff – Manly Warringah TA

NSWTA Coach of the Year
Barry Gibson – Manly Warringah TA

NSWTA Team of the Year
Manly Warringah Women’s Premier League

Rod Wise Medal – NSWTA Volunteer of the Year
Graham Knights – Manly Warringah TA

NSWTA President of the Year
Graham Knights – Manly Warringah TA

NSWTA Administrator of the Year
Brad Mitchell – Hills Hornets TA

NSWTA Referee Director of the Year
Rina Janson – Northern Suburbs TA